Thursday, March 7, 2013

Deleting a Schedule View results in deletion of View Template

Nasty little bug picked up by Jason Kunkel.  Basically, you make View Template based on a Schedule View.  Then, when you go to delete that original Schedule View, Revit will prompt you with a "View:ViewTemplateName will be deleted" message.  Pressing OK deletes the View Template and therefore leaves any Schedule views with the Template orphaned...

I also discovered that if you Duplicate the Template you made as discussed above, and then delete the original Schedule View, it will prompt to delete BOTH the original Template and the duplicated Template!





I tested this using latest update of Revit 2013.


From Jason's blog:
When you go to delete it, Revit tells you that it is going to delete them.  And then it does.  Poof.  Gone.  Any schedule that had that View Template assigned is now set to NONE.  On top of that, any View Template that was copied from the prior ones are “linked” as well, so this could be pretty disruptive to your schedule View Templates.

Read more / via
View Template and Schedule Hiccup | RVIT - Revit rants, tips, and junk

No comments:

Post a Comment